Main content

Alert message

by Ann Rash and Debra Sewell

© TSBVI 2003 -  Un's the One can be ordered as a complete set including all levels, or can be ordered in individual levels.

Un's The One is a comprehensive program for teaching uncontracted braille. The sequence for introducing the braille configurations has been organized into 16 clusters of letters, numerals, punctuation, and special signs, with the last cluster devoted to reading practice. Also included in this curriculum are a Pre-Braille Assessment, a Braille checklist and ideas for games.

This program can be used with beginning braille readers, as well as those who need to learn uncontracted braille as part of a more functional approach to reading and writing. In an effort to incorporate current best practices in teaching reading and writing, a wide variety of activities are included. Within each cluster an extensive set of instructional materials is provided at the primary, upper elementary, and secondary levels in order to provide adequate ready-made practice materials.

Un's The One is written at three levels:

  • Level 1 - Primary, Grades K-2
  • Level 2 - Upper Elementary, Grades 3, 4, 5
  • Level 3 - Secondary, Grades 6-12

With the following instructional components

  • Review of previous clusters
  • Introduction of new configuration
  • Discrimination of new configuration
  • Listening for sounds of new letters
  • Literature that includes new configurations
  • Reading
  • Writing