Main content

Alert message


The Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired is governed by a nine-member board appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.
Education Code 30.022(a)

Members of the Board serve for terms of six years, with the terms of three members expiring on January 31 of each odd-numbered year.
Education Code 30.022(b)


The Board shall be composed of:

  1. Three members who are blind, or visually impaired, at least one of whom has received educational services related to the blindness, or visual impairment;
  2. Three members who are working, or have worked, as professionals in the field of delivering services to persons who are blind, or visually impaired; and
  3. Three members, each of whom is the parent of a child who is blind, or visually impaired, and at least one of whom is the parent of a child, who, at the time of the parent's appointment, is receiving education services related to the blindness, or visual impairment.

Education Code 30.022(a)


Newly appointed Trustees shall sign and file with the Secretary of State the required Oath or Affirmation set out in Board Policy BBA-E in accordance with Texas Constitution Article XVI, Section 1.  After the statement has been filed, and before entering upon the duties of the office, the Trustees shall take the oath or affirmation of office and shall file it with the Secretary of State.  Tex. Const. Art. XVI, Sec. 1

The oath may be administered and a certificate of the fact given by:

  1. A judge, retired judge, or clerk of a municipal court;
  2. A judge, retired judge, senior judge, clerk, or commissioner of a court of record;
  3. A justice of the peace, or a clerk of a justice court;
  4. An associate judge, magistrate, master, referee, or criminal law hearing officer;
  5. A notary public;
  6. A member of a board or commission created by a law of this state, in a matter pertaining to a duty of the board or commission;
  7. A person employed by the Texas Ethics Commission who has a duty related to a report required by Title 15, Election Code, in a matter pertaining to that duty;
  8. A county tax assessor-collector or an employee of the county tax assessor-collector if the oath relates to a document that is required or authorized to be filed in the office of the county tax assessor-collector;
  9. The Secretary or former Secretary of State of Texas;
  10. An employee of a personal bond office, or an employee of a county, who is employed to obtain information required to be obtained under oath if the oath is required or authorized by Article 17.04 or by Article 26.04(n) or (o), Code of Criminal Procedure;
  11. The Lieutenant Governor or former Lieutenant Governor of Texas;
  12. The Speaker or former Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives;
  13. The Governor or former Governor of Texas;
  14. A Texas legislator or retired legislator;
  15. The Attorney General for Texas or a former Attorney General;
  16. The secretary or clerk of a municipality in a matter pertaining to the official business of the municipality;
  17. A peace officer described in Article 2.12, Code of Criminal Procedure, if:
    1. the oath is administered when the officer is engaged in the performance of the officer’s duties; and
    2. the administration of the oath relates to the officer’s duties; or
  18. A county treasurer. 

Gov't Code 602.002, 602.006


Adopted:          11/9/79

Amended:         1/16/81, 3/9/90, 9/27/90, 3/22/91, 11/13/92, 11/15/96, 9/22/06, 9/29/17

Reviewed:       1/24/02, 4/3/09, 11/20/09, 1/31/14